*NEW* Ending a Program Cycle


If your program has cycles with periods of time when the program is inactive and mentoring relationships are ending, it would be important to learn how to pause the program on the virtual mentoring platform. This will prevent mentors and mentees from connecting to the platform and interacting with each other when there are no program staff to support members and monitor the program.

In this article we will present you with three different methods to end a program cycle properly on the virtual mentoring platform.

The methods are based on the following considerations:

  1. The program requires a full members' refresh.
  2. The program would like to retain some program members and their existing data.
  3. The program would like a full members' refresh but also needs a quick re-onboarding method for returning program members.

1- Full Members' Refresh

Definition: a full members' refresh consist of permanently deleting all current program members which will also delete all data related to their mentoring relationships and platform usage (accessed resources, courses and events, survey and evaluation completion etc...).

Steps:

1.0 Deactivate all users

Deactivating your program members will prevent them from accessing the virtual platform.

Small Cohort 

1.1 Click the "Admin" tab on the left-hand side of the page to access the administrator dashboard.

image-1668018697445.png

1.2 Click  Members on the center of the administrator dashboard.

image-1665006948936.png

1.3 Uncheck the box under the "Is Active" column to the right of the name list to de-activate each member.

1.3.1 There is no need and no option to save, the program members will be deactivated immediately and can not longer connect to the platform from now on.

image-1665007008943.png

Large Cohort 

1.4 Click the "Admin" tab on the left side of the page to access the administrator dashboard.

image-1668018700965.png

1.5 Click "Profiles" under the "Customize" section on the right-hand side of the dashboard.

1.5.1 The "Profiles" section will expand, click "Deactivate Members".

image-1668552573052.png

1.6 Download the mass deactivation template by clicking  Download Sample.

image-1665007413374.png

1.6.1 Complete the template with the email addresses of program members as  shown on the template.

image-1665007450771.png

1.6.2 Save the completed template to your computer.

1.7 Click  Choose File and select the template you recently completed and saved.

image-1665007477137.png

1.8 Click Deactivate and this will deactivate all your program members at once.

image-1665007525082.png

2.0 Export all Reports

2.1 Follow the instructions in this article Enhanced Reports to learn how to run reports and learn more about the different types of reports available.

2.2 Save the exported report files based on the program and year.

3.0 Members' Deletion

The last step consist of deleting all program members. Even though they have been made inactive and can no longer connect to the platform, it is best practice to completely delete them from the platform to start fresh when the new cohort begins. If not, the platform will continue to display inactive members and relationships from the members and relationships' sections along with new active ones.  Furthermore, the inactive members and relationships will also be captured along with active members and relationships in future reports.

image-1665085576721.png

3.1 Follow the instructions in this article How to permanently delete members to permanently delete all members ahead of the new cohort.

Do not include the names of Administrator(s) otherwise their profiles will also be permanently deleted.


2 - Retaining some Program Members and their Data

Definition: this process consist of permanently deleting program members that will not be returning and keeping returning program members on an inactive status until the start of a new program cycle. All existing data related to the returning members and their completed relationships will still be captured in future reports and on the members & relationships pages. 

Steps:

1.0 Deactivate all users.

1.1 Please refer to the steps in the previous section above.

2.0 End all mentoring relationships

Doing this ensures that mentoring relationships are "reset" for returning program members.

2.1 Follow the instructions in this article End all mentoring relationships to learn how to end them all simultaneously.  

3.0 Reports

3.1 Follow the instructions in this article Enhanced Reports to learn how to run reports and learn more about the different types of reports available.

3.2 Save the exported report files based on the program and year.

4.0 Member Deletion

The next step consist of deleting program members that will not be returning.

4.1 Follow the instructions in this article How to permanently delete members to permanently delete all members ahead of the new cohort.

Do not include the names of the returning Members and Administrator(s) that will be a part of the new cohort.

5.0 Reactivate existing program members

When your new cohort is about to start, beside onboarding new members you will need to:

5.1 Re-activate returning members.

5.1.1  Click the "Admin" tab on the left-hand side of the page to access the administrator dashboard.

image-1668018708058.png

5.1.2 Click Members in the center of the dashboard.

image-1665006948936.png

5.1.3 Check the box under the "Is Active" column to the right of the name list to activate each returning member.

image-1665088208184.png

5.2 Inform returning members to update their user profiles ahead of the new cohort.


3 - Full Members' Refresh and Quick Re-Onboarding for Returning Members

Definition: this process consist of permanently deleting all program members including those who will be returning when the new cycle begins. All existing data related to the returning members and their relationships will no longer be captured in reports and on the members & relationships pages. In this instance, a program administrator will save the returning members' profile information for a quick re-import of their profile information at the beginning of the new cycle. This will prevent the returning member from having to re-enter profile information they already provided in the previous cycle while starting this one with brand new data.

Steps:

1.0 Deactivate all users.

1.1 Please refer to the steps in the previous section above.

2.0 Export all Reports

2.1 Follow the instructions in this article Enhanced Reports to learn how to run reports and learn more about the different types of reports available.

2.2 Save the exported report files based on the program and year.

3.0 Member Deletion

The next step consist of deleting all program members . Even though they have been made inactive and can no longer connect to the platform, it is best practice to completely delete them from the platform to start fresh when the new cohort begins. If not, the platform will still display returning members old data related to their relationships and platform usage from the last cycle. 

3.1 Follow the instructions in this article How to permanently delete members to permanently delete all members ahead of the new cohort.

Do not include the names of the Administrator(s) otherwise they will also be permanently deleted.

4.0 Re-onboard Returning Members

4.1 Duplicate the saved Member’s Report file. To do so, use the "Save As" option in your Excel worksheet.

image-1665092884267.png

4.2 Highlight the members to be re-onboarded and delete the others.

image-1665092961920.png

4.3 Highlight the columns with the relevant profile fields and custom fields data to be re-imported, then delete the irrelevant columns. 

4.3.1 Don't forget to save your updates.

image-1665093276146.png

4.4 Follow the instructions provided in the Member Import tool and re-upload the returning members’ data.

4.5 Inform returning members to update their user profiles ahead of the new cohort.